New Year, New Me?

Originally posted on the Scene 13 blog

I must admit the new year has been off to a bit of a slow start. Compared to last year, when I was scheduling the release date of Shattered Illusions, applying for schools and kicking off the publicity campaign for the book, this year has been silent. Though I’ve had plenty to look forward to, January has been kind of a slump for me. I’m in the ‘now what’ phase again, which is never a good place for me to be. I want 2014 to be an epic year. I know that  I should judge the entire year solely on a couple of lazy, particularly lousy weeks at the beginning of it all. Things can turn around and change in a heart beat. And yet, yesterday, when I was thinking about what I could possibly write about this month that would be worth sharing, I couldn’t think of anything to say. So, I figured I would leave it alone until something would come to me. And then, I went to get a haircut…

Now, I am not the type of person who makes spur of the moment, spontaneous decisions. I like change, but I’m usually too much of a chicken to try anything too drastic, such as, say…cutting all of my hair off. But yesterday, sitting in that chair, feeling the monotony of another week on my shoulders, thinking about how much I’d love to do something different, something to change the way I feel about myself, I gave the barber the creative license to cut my hair. All of it. Gone. My long, thick locks of impossible curly hair, on the floor all around me. New year, new me. Usually, when I get haircuts, even a half inch, I flinch the entire time. I tend to buy into the ‘long hair is beautiful’ and ‘short hair is blah’ thing. When I was fourteen, my parents convinced me to get a bob. The experience was so traumatic that I vowed never to cut my hair so short again. Until last night. There was something so exhilarating about the idea of reinventing myself, without doing anything too drastic or dangerous. New year, new me. I can be anyone I choose.But, what I’ve come to realize based on this experience (among many other random things that have happened to me since 2014 came around) is that being anyone that I want to be, in my eyes, means being the best version of myself. I’m not looking to become anyone else, because the life I lead and the person I am is who I am meant to be. But, that doesn’t mean that I cannot become the best version of myself. So, here I am, Leigh 2.0, with a short, curly bob, ready to conquer whatever 2014 throws in my path. Here we go…!

 

Cheers!

