Mind Talk

images

Hello, this is your mind speaking. How are you? I know it’s a bit of a redundant question, but I cannot be rude and ignore your feelings.  I don’t mean to sound harsh, but you’ve been putting a lot of pressure on me lately. Is everything alright? I’ve noticed that you’re overthinking more than usual, and it’s becoming a problem. You see, what you’re not aware of (or, perhaps, what you’ve chosen to ignore) is that while overthinking may result in productivity and a boost of energy, you’re going to drive yourself crazy. Better yet, you’re going to drive me crazy. You think that you’re the only one doing any of the work or handling any of the curve balls that life is throwing at you, but we’re a team. You need me to be sound and stable if you want to get through the bumps that are coming around the bend.

Think of me as the captain of a ship. When you panic or are distressed, you send me a signal or a wave. There are several ways for me to handle this, but I’ve noticed that we’ve been miscommunicating, which is where our issue is coming from. You see, instead of sending me a wave and allowing me to process the information first, you send me one wave after another, without giving me a moments notice. You stop breathing. Did you ever notice that? When you panic, you stop breathing, and if you can’t breathe, I can’t breathe. I need oxygen in order to get work done too, you know. Immediately, I think we’re under attack, and I become defensive and uncontrollable. Do you know what happens when I become defensive and uncontrollable? You follow suit. So, now both of us are panicking as if the world is coming to an end. It’s funny though, the world never actually comes to an end. You’re sensative, I get it. I’m sensative too. There’s only so much time I can handle being under pressure without oxygen before I lose it and turn off. I’m like a machine, you have to keep up with maitenence, otherwise I’ll stop working the way you want and need me to. Trust me, that wouldn’t be a good thing.

I know I’m no angel either. I tend to egg you on when the panic sets in. I’m sure you blame most of your sleeples nights of tossing, and turning on me. I take credit, I really do. Once you get rolling, I take over and drive you nuts. I’m not even aware of how many thoughts I can produce until it’s over. And it’s a lot of work. It takes all of your energy and it takes all of mine too. We’re both at fault. Instead of blaming one another for who causes the issues around here, let’s make a pact.

If you promise to breathe and calm down, I promise to work my hardest to avert the issue without shutting down or sending you negative, unneccesary detail. Sound good? Good! Now, let’s see how long this’ll last. We’ll get together in a few weeks and talk about our progress.

I’m glad we had this talk.

Twitter/FacebookYouTubeBuy the book! Amazon/Barnes and Nobles/Order Signed Copies

