A Chat With Author Kelly Hashway

Please welcome YA author Kelly Hashway!

How old were you when you discovered your passion for writing?

I remember writing in elementary school. Writing is something that has always been part of my life.

How do you handle negative feedback about your work?

I don’t read reviews. Well, I should say I only read the reviews my publisher tweets or posts on FB because I know those are safe to read. 😉

What is the best part about being a published author?

Being able to spend my day doing what I love. This is my dream job. I love going to work every day.

How do you feel that this form of expression has shaped you as a person?

Really I feel like it’s just part of who I am. I can’t imagine not writing.

If there was one thing you could change about any of your written works, what would it be and why?

I don’t think I would change anything. I’m a firm believer in things happening for a reason. Each book is written how it’s meant to be written.

Do you ever doubt yourself or your ability? How do you get out of it?

Of course. I think it’s only normal to doubt yourself every once in a while. I usually get past it by holding a copy of my book in my hands and reminding myself that I can do this.

What is your daily writing routine like?

I write every day after I drop my daughter off at school, and I usually don’t stop until I pick her up from school. It’s five and a half hours of uninterrupted writing.

How has writing affected other areas of your life (home, work if writing is not your full time career, relationships, etc)?

My house isn’t always as clean as it could be. 😉 Honestly, being a writer allows me to be home with my daughter during the summers and participate in her school events during the year, which is really important to me.

What is your cure for writers block?

Work on something else, whether it’s another story or just another scene in my current WIP. I find jumping ahead to the climax gets me excited about the story all over again and usually snaps me out of whatever is blocking me.

Who are your favorite writers? Is your writing style similar to theirs?

Rick Riordan is my favorite author. I love his humor and his ability to write an action scene. I would love to think my writing style is similar to his.

What kind of advice would you give your own child if they told you that they wanted to become an author?

Funny you should ask because my daughter does want to be a writer. I tell her to keep tapping into her imagination and write the stories that come to her. She’s written about six books (all picture book length) at the age of six. (Yes, I’m a proud mom.)

How do you see the future of the written word, considering the type of technology we have available today?

I think there will continue to be more ways to get stories into the hands of readers, and that’s a good thing.

 Thanks for stopping by, Kelly!

You can learn more about Kelly at any of the links below:

TOUCH OF DEATH, Spencer Hill Press, January 15, 2013 Order on AmazonB&N, or Walmart

STALKED BY DEATH, Spencer Hill Press, August 13, 2013 Pre-order on AmazonB&N, or Walmart

FACE OF DEATH, Spencer Hill Press, January 7, 2014 Pre-order on Amazon or B&N

INTO THE FIRE, Month9Books, January 21, 2014

THE MONSTER WITHIN, Spencer Hill Press, April 7, 2014

 Twitter/FacebookYouTubeBuy the book! Amazon/Barnes and Nobles/Order Signed Copies

