The Good(reads) Angel: A Chat with Blogger Kazhy de Guzman

I discovered Kazhy’s blog by chance over a year ago, when I began looking for blogs to host guest spots. What were the odds that Kazhy would end up listing and maintaining the Shattered Illusions page on Goodreads? It is an honor to host her here today!




    Tell us a bit about yourself. Where are you from? What do you do outside of blogging and reading lots of books?

    First off, hi everyone! 😀 I’m Kazhy, twenty years old, and I’ve lived in Manila, Philippines my whole life! I’m a computer engineering student but that’s not really my interest – well, I enjoy the programming stuff but NOT the maths – so my reading often gets in the way of studying. No regrets ;D



    How long have you been blogging?

    I’ve been blogging for almost a year now! Actually, I started my blog on January of last year but I stopped after a while. I only restarted my blog last September.



    Is there a specific genre that appeals to you? 

    Hmm, not really, but I prefer getting even a little romance in the books that I read.



    Blogging is a full time job. How do you balance blogging and keeping up with authors with everything else going on in your life?

    I admit, blogging and all the stuff that comes with it takes a toll on my real life. It’s my escape, so I tend to give more time for it. But I’ve been trying to change that lately, especially when it comes to family time.



    What’s the number #1 rule you have about keeping your blog up to date?

    My #1 rule is to post what I promised other people I would, i.e. blog tour posts, book review requests, cover reveals, etc. Blogging isn’t a real job, but I do my best to be professional about it.



    What is your daily writing routine?

    I check my Google calendar obsessively for what I need to post the next day. Meme posts (Top Ten Tuesdays, Waiting on Wednesdays) get drafted either on Sunday or Monday.



    How have you handled negative feedback about the topics you write about or the authors you have interviewed/featured?

    Fortunately, I’ve never gotten any kind of flak on my blog. Bloggers usually get that on discussion posts, and I haven’t posted any of that XD When I post negative reviews, I don’t tweet links to the author and publisher out of respect. I know I wouldn’t want to read that if I were the author, or I’d just search for it myself.

    Most memorable guest post?
    The first one I had on my blog, which is – oh, hey, it’s yours, Leigh! :))

    Least favorite genre?
    Adult romance. I only read what sounds really interesting/unique.



    Some writers have a tendency to be drama queens- how do you deal?

    I haven’t ;D The writers I’ve interacted with so far have all been pleasant, thankfully.



    You do a lot of promoting on your blog – What do you think is the best source of online promotion? (Facebook, Twitter, etc.)

    Definitely Twitter! It just seems like everyone’s there.



    Whats the number one piece of advice you would give to a blogger or author promoting their work?

    Overdoing it will just turn off potential readers, so don’t.



    How do you separate your personal reading interests from the work that is submitted for your blog? Or is your blog strictly based on your reading taste?

    My blog is mine, so everything on it is there because I find it interesting.


You can check out all of Kazhy’s work at the following links: Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

You can read Kazhy’s review of Shattered Illusions here.
