The Latest News and Views

My dearest readers (non- existent and otherwise),

I have completely fallen off the face of the blogosphere. This is the problem of working two jobs while trying to promote a novel. You never have enough time for anything. Oh, what I wouldn’t give for a beach front in Aruba….ahhhhh.

Here are the latest news and views:

First off, this weekend, I completed what I believe to be the final run through of the Shattered Illusions manuscript before it goes to print. Brace yourself….AHHHHHHHHHHHH! I spent all of Thursday night combing through the pages, looking blindly for the mistakes I already knew weren’t there. I know myself well enough to know that I’ll probably be checking and editing the manuscript until it goes to print, and even once it hits shelves. There is no doubt that my perfectionista radar will be on high alert for every moment of the rest of this process, and every writing project I ever work on for the rest of my life. It might entitle me to an OCD title, but it’s one I’m willing to wear.

After a sleepless night of editing, I broke away from the concrete jungle that is Brooklyn and took a train ride over to Princeton University for the weekend. I traveled the journey with a good friend and fellow lover of life. She attracts story tellers like a magnet, always looking for the advice and the words of strangers to aid her in her journey of life. In such a small amount of time, I learned from her how not only to give back to the world, but how to literally cultivate new life wherever you go. Within moments of departing from Penn Station, she had the travelers in the near by seats sharing their stories with her. It is a powerful person who can extract such vulnerability out of another human being. With care and compassion, she listened to every word, laughed at every joke, and nodded at every moment of solemn understanding. Within the Ivy covered walls of Princeton University, more stories were brought to life than I could have ever imagined. As a story teller, watching the power of someone elses ability to illuminate magic in ordinary people gave me not only hope for the human race, but for story tellers everywhere.

A word about Princeton University: It was nothing like what I imagined. I expected a large, overbearing, over populated campus. What I found was the complete opposite. It was a run away of epic proportions, and it was exactly what I needed after 24 hours of non stop editing. I was quite tempted to return to Brooklyn, pack my belongings, and return to the town for a longer duration. If only I wasn’t so in love with where I live…

Finally, on Sunday, an article I wrote was featured on Pop Chassid, a popular blog run by the brilliant Elad Nehorai. It was an honor and a privilege to share my journey with a larger audience, and I thank you for the opportunity. You can check out the article here.

Stay tuned, there will be plenty more to share soon!

Cheers.

