Down the Rabbit Hole…and straight on till morning!

Cats and Rabits, would reside in fancy little houses
and be dressed in shoes and hats and trousers
In a world of my own

In school we have been reading and discussing the novel Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
The novel tells the story of a dystopian ( or utopian) future, where everything is seemingly perfect…
every single person has a perfect job, everyone is happy, crime does not exist, ill emotions have been erased…
Sounds like a Wonderland…I wish!
The more depth is brought into this world, the more one begins to realize that it would be a horrible place to be… and the scarier part is that we are practically living in Brave New World ourselves.
The unclear thing, is how to stop the madness before we all turn into each other and everything we know is wiped off the face of the earth.
According to the way we live, there can be no peace ( really? Isn’t there ANY way?) because to have peace you would have to eliminate fear, jealousy, crime, wars, hatred, etc etc, before you could reach the ultimate level of freedom…So whats better?
Ultimate Freedom ( which when you think abut it is more like a jail cell than freedom… being cloned to be just like everyone else but “happy” is the ultimate Siberia.) or a struggle with ultimate reward and GENUINE happiness…
Choose Wisely.

My latest obsession has been Alice and Wonderland AND Peter Pan…
I’ve always loved the books and the movies ( yes I have seen every version of both that has ever been made)
but I think once you get older you start to really appriecate the true meaning and need for a Wonderland or a Second star to the right…
A perfet world, where everything could be my way and I would never have to grow up…
after reading Brave New World I am not sure if I would want to fly to Neverland or fall down a rabbit hole anymore.
Wonderland is starting to sound like a dystopia and Neverland isn’t sounding too good either.
When you truly think about it, both Alice and Wendy get a nice dose of reality upon arrival… Alice’s wonderland isn’t so wonderful after all, and staying a kid forever has it’s benefits, but COME on! Half the fun of life is growing up ( it’s not so easy, but it has more upsides than down… at least I think so…)

As much as I would love to live in a far off place with no troubles, fears or worries and just live the “easy” life, staying right where I am makes perfect sense, because to live an easy life, with no reward and no emotion and in a sense no freedom… that’s just not for me…

As much as I would love to run away tomorrow and wind up in Neverland, I have enough to deal with to have to battle Pirates and Indians right now…
No mad tea parties for me… as much as I love the idea, I don’t want to go there only to realize how much more I have in my own world…

And when our journey is through,
each time we say good night,
we’ll thank the little star that shines
the second from the right.

